Five positions available on Source Protection Committee

(North Bay, August 30, 2017) There are five vacancies on the North Bay-Mattawa Drinking Water Source Protection Committee (SPC), a local multi-stakeholder committee responsible for reducing risks to local municipal drinking water sources in Callander, Mattawa, North Bay, Powassan, and South River.

There are currently three (3) vacancies for committee members representing Municipalities; one (1) representing the Economic sector; and one (1) representing Public at Large.  A committee member must reside in, own or rent land in, be employed in, operate a business in, or be employed by a municipality located in the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area.

The North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority is seeking applications for five individuals to serve on the SPC.   All members of the committee must be replaced or reappointed on or before January 1, 2020 in accordance with the Clean Water Act, 2006, Ontario Regulation 288/07.  A selection committee composed of Source Protection Authority (SPA) members will interview candidates and make recommendations to the SPA which is responsible for the appointment of SPC members.

Membership on the SPC is evenly allocated between municipal, economic and general public sectors. There is an additional seat on the committee for a Nipissing First Nations representative. Members are asked to make a five-year commitment to serve on the SPC.  SPC members receive a $200/day per diem.

Current Source Protection Committee members include Maurice Schlosser, George Stivrins, Lucy Emmott, and Roy Warriner.  Dennis MacDonald, John MacLachlan, Bev Hillier, Doug Brydges and Randy McLaren’s terms are ending; however they may reapply for reappointment.  Jeff Celentano is chair, appointed by the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change.  The Nipissing First Nations position on the committee is vacant.

An application form can be found on as well as the Notice for Applications and associated information including:  Summary of Source Protection Committee Functions and Obligations of SPC Members, Code of Conduct, Conflict of Interest Policy, and Rules of Procedures.

Anyone interested in applying to be considered for appointment as a municipal representative, must contact the Clerk of a municipality located within the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Area  and submit a completed application to the Municipality by Friday, September 29, 2017.   Municipalities must submit their selections for consideration to the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority by Tuesday, October 31, 2017 by 4 pm local time. A letter from the municipality acknowledging its support for the applicant is also required.

Anyone interested in applying to be considered for appointment as an economic or public-at-large representative on the North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Committee, must submit an application, together with a covering letter and resume, by Tuesday, October 31, 2017 by 4 p.m. local time, to:

North Bay-Mattawa Source Protection Authority
c/o Sue Miller, DWSP Program Manager, North Bay-Mattawa Conservation Authority,
15 Janey Ave., North Bay, ON P1C 1N1

For additional information, contact Sue Miller, Project Manager for the North Bay -Mattawa Source Protection Area at (705) 474-5420 . 
You can follow NBMCA on and twitter @theNBMCA.   Website:


For information contact: 
Sue Miller, DWSP Program Manager (705) 474-5420 ext 2018 
Sue Buckle, Supervisor Communications and Outreach  (705) 474-5420